MAC Quite Cute Spring 2011 Collection: Nail Lacquers Swatches, Comparisons & Review

Photobucket

I wasn’t even expecting MAC’s Spring 2011 collection at my local MAC counter so early! 3 days ago, I popped by Tangs Plaza and was surprised that the whole collection was on display. So as usual, I got sucked into buying all the nail polishes. Pastels are one of my weakness in nail polishes and since these are limited edition, it was a perfect excuse to buy them!

Photobucket
From left: Ice Cream Cake, Little Girl Type, Mischievous Mint

I was kinda disappointed because this is a Quite Cute collection but the packaging wasn’t cute. I’d treasure my polishes even more if the packaging was even more ‘loud’ like maybe a pastel graffiti design! Anyway… let’s get on to the swatches!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Ice Cream Cake is a blue-based pastel pink, my favourite! Very pretty, reminds me of Barbie and cotton candy! The shade is not that unique but I couldn’t find a similar shade in my stash. It is kinda like a cross between OPI Sparrow Me The Drama and OPI Shorts Story.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Little Girl Type is a blue-based pale pastel lavender. I’m not sure what I am going to associate this colour with but… the name of this polish is W.E.I.R.D. Little Girl Type?? What does that even mean? It’ll be creepy if men started saying ‘little girls are my type’ hahaha! OPI Rumples Wigglin’ is pretty similar except that it has a slightly darker tone.
(sorry, typo in the swatch picture!!)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Mischievous Mint is a pale pastel mint. Again, I can’t think of anything that is cute and minty at the same time… maybe a mint ice cream?? A polish similar to this would be China Glaze Re-fresh Mint but the latter seems to be much lighter in comparison! Mischievous Mint is leaning more to jade green than a minty colour as compared to Re-fresh Mint!

Overall, these shades aren’t that unique but I think Ice Cream Cake deserves the attention in this collection because there is no close dupes! The brushes really suck in all of these, hence the messy swatches! I deeply apologise for that but the brush bristles were at fault too! Some of the bristles are sprayed out in different directions so it was kinda hard to do a decent swatch. The formula of these were alright, very thick, creamy and pigmented. All of my swatches are two coats, no top coat.

I hope this was helpful! ๐Ÿ™‚

(I need to get more polish remover, I’m running out of them yikes!)

6 thoughts on “MAC Quite Cute Spring 2011 Collection: Nail Lacquers Swatches, Comparisons & Review

  1. Hi Shona!

    Thanks for the swatches ๐Ÿ˜€ Funnily enough, when I first saw the swatch for ‘Ice Cream Cake’, I thought of ‘Shorts Story’ and ‘Sparrow Me The Drama’. So thanks for taking the guesswork out of this! Or else, I’m pretty sure I’d have been googling all these polishes for swatches to do a mental comparison!

    P.S. I’m tempted to get ‘Ice Cream Cake’ but I’m not sure if I can justify the price…

    • Haha, great minds think alike! ๐Ÿ˜€ I have alot of pinks but none of them are close to Ice Cream Cake! Lol it depends whether the cost justify the price.. Just think as investment! Since this is limited edition, you can sell it way higher when it’s OOS everywhere, LOL

Leave a Reply

