Tutorial on AngelPro Gelly Polish: Colour Blocks

Another picture-heavy post for all of my readers today because I’m going to show you how to do a colour block design, wheee! Yvonne was my nail model and kindly helped me take pics for the step-by-step tutorial 🙂 Thanks Yvonne!

Before I begin, do check out 2 of my posts on Angel Pro Gelly for more information:

1. Tutorial on AngelPro Gelly: Candy Drips
2. 100 New AngelPro Gelly Colours!

Ok, lets get on to the easy-peasy tutorial now~

1. After doing your cuticle care and preparation, use an Angel Pro Buffer to buff your nails lightly! Wipe off the dust with a lint-free wipe soaked with acetone. (ignore the thumb, I was still soaking off her previous acrylic extensions!)

Photobucket

2. Apply Angel Pro Gelly Base and cure in a LED light for 10-30 seconds for base coat, 2 minutes for UV light.

Photobucket

3. Apply the base colour of your choice. Here I am using Angel Pro #1! Remember to apply 2-3 thin coats! *opps sorry about my messy workplace*

Photobucket

4. (no picture, sorry about that) Next, use another colour and use the polish brush to draw a straight line diagonally across the nail, except the ring finger! Make sure to cover at least half of the nail with the second colour. I am using Angel Pro #28 and I did 2 coats for that

5. The last colour that I’ll be using will be Angel Pro #17, cover the last quarter of the nail and apply 2 coats! Apply for all nails except ring finger. This is the reason why you have to apply your base colour thinly, because this design requires alot of coats from different colours!

Photobucket

6. Next, I used a gold glitter liner and lined all the colour blocks that I drew earlier! This really makes the manicure stand out and gold really compliments the purple family!

Photobucket

7. Last but not least, I glued on square and round studs to all the fingers! For the ring finger, I arranged it according to Yvonne’s liking! Which is a silver square stud in between a gold square stud and a round one! Remember to use your handy tool — Tweezers!

Photobucket

Photobucket

8. For the rest of the fingers, I used only gold and silver round studs!

Photobucket

9. Last but not least, apply 2 coats of Angel Pro Gelly Shine! This is to secure the studs and also give a beautiful shine! The good thing about this top coat is that it is not acetone-resistant so therefore I can directly do a soak off for Yvonne the next time round she comes back! This saves me alot of time! (instead of filing off the top coat first)

Photobucket

The final last step is to cleanse the nails with a cleanser and TA-DAHHH… The end result! Both of us really like it, I think it emits off a Japanese style, especially since it was stud overload! Pretty! And I love the colour combination, I’ve to thank Yvonne for matching them up together!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I hope this tutorial was helpful!

For those who wants to get their hands on Angel Pro Gelly, come down to Pink Room International Nail Academy at Anson Road, International Plaza Level 15!

Update: The 100 new colours from Angel Pro Gelly hasn’t arrive yet, I’ll update you guys again when it arrives!

Leave a Reply

